©2019 Surepass, Inc. School Lic.#3572

Additional Information

The source for the following information is State of California DMV, Provisional Licensing Changes - Fast Facts FFDL19 (REV 11/2005). For the latest updates, please go to the California DMV website.

 

  • To obtain a provisional instruction permit you must be at least 151/2 but under 18 years of age and:

    • Fill out the DMV application from (DL 44)

    • Obtain your parents' or guardians' signatures on the application form

    • Present an acceptable birth date/legal presence document. Refer to the California Driver Handbook for additional information (available at the California DMV website)

    • Provide your social security number

    • Pay the required application fee of $31

    • Pass an eye exam

    • Have your picture taken

    • Give a thumbprint

    • Pass a law test

    • If you incorrectly answer nine or more questions (46 total questions) on the law test, you must wait one week before taking it again

    • Hold your permit for a minimum of 6 months before applying for a license

    • If you are between 151/2 and 171/2 you must provide proof that you:

    • Completed driver education (DL 387 or OL 237) and are taking driver training (DL 392 or OL 392). Your driving instructor will give you the forms to show proof of completion canyon driving and bad weather driving

    • Completed driver education either in classroom or online.Your driving instructor will give you the forms to show proof of completion

 

  • If you are at least 171/2, you may obtain a permit without driver education or driver training. However to get a license, you must bring proof that you have completed driver education and driver training or wait until you are 18 years old.

  • If you want a permit to drive mopeds or motorcycles, you must be at least 151/2 and bring proof that you have completed driver education and driver training.

 

NOTE: The provisional instruction permit is not valid until you start behind-the-wheel driver training with an instructor or reach age 171/2.

 

 

Instruction Permit Restrictions (Mopeds & Motorcycles)

You may use your provisional instruction permit to practice with a parent, guardian, licensed driver 25 years of age or older, or a licensed or certified driving instructor. The person must have a valid driver license in his/her possession and must sit close enough to take control of the vehicle at any time.

 

A provisional instruction permit does not let you drive alone- not even to a DMV office to take the driving test. If you have an instruction permit that allows you to drive mopeds or motorcycles (or any 2-wheel vehicle), you:

 

  • Cannot carry passengers

  • Must ride during daylight only

  • Cannot ride on any freeway

 

 

License Requirements

To obtain a provisional license you must:

 

  • Be at least 16 years old

  • Have held your instruction permit for at least six months

  • Prove you have completed driver education and driver training (DL 387, DL 388, DL 388A, OL 237 or OL 238)

  • Provide a parent's or guardian's signature on your instruction permit verifying that you have completed 50 hours of driving practice (10 hours must be night driving). Refer to the Parent-Teen Training Guide, available at any DMV office

  • Call 1-800-777-0133 during normal business hours to schedule a behind-the -wheel driving test

  • Pass the behind-the-wheel driving test

 

If you fail, you must wait two weeks before taking the driving test again and pay a $5 retest fee for each subsequent driving test.

 

 

License Requirements

To obtain a provisional license you must:

 

  • Be at least 16 years old

  • Have held your instruction permit for at least six months

  • Prove you have completed driver education and driver training (DL 387, DL 388, DL 388A, OL 237 or OL 238)

  • Provide a parent's or guardian's signature on your instruction permit verifying that you have completed 50 hours of driving practice (10 hours must be night driving). Refer to the Parent-Teen Training Guide, available at any DMV office

  • Call 1-800-777-0133 during normal business hours to schedule a behind-the -wheel driving test

  • Pass the behind-the-wheel driving test

 

If you fail, you must wait two weeks before taking the driving test again and pay a $5 retest fee for each subsequent driving test.

 

 

License Restrictions

Effective January 1, 2006, you must be accompanied and supervised by a licensed parent, guardian, other licensed driver 25 years of age or older, or a licensed or certified driving instructor when you:

 

  • Transport passengers under 20 years of age at any time for the first twelve months

  • Drive between 11 PM and 5 AM for the first twelve months

 

NOTE: Local laws may further restrict or prohibit driving during specified hours.

 

 

Exceptions to Restrictions

When reasonable transportation is not available and it is necessary for you to drive, the law grants the following exceptions for minors to drive between 11 PM and 5 AM or to transport an immediate family member unaccompanied and unsupervised. The law requires that you must carry a note explaining why you must drive and when the necessity will end.

 

 

Other Information

Medical necessity

The note must be signed by your physician and contain a diagnosis and probable date when recovery will end your need to drive.

 

School or School-Authorized Activities

The note must be signed by your school principal, dean, or his or her designee and include a reason for the school or school-authorized activity and the date when the activity will end.

 

Employment Necessity

The note must be signed by your employer and verify employment and the date your employment will end.

 

Immediate Need of Family Member

The note must be signed by your employer and verify employment and the date your employment will end.

 

Emancipated Minor

No documentation is needed for this exemption. However, you must have already declared yourself emancipated by completing a DMV form and by providing Proof of Financial Responsibility (SR IP) in lieu of your guarantors' signatures when applied for your instruction permit.

 

Minors with an Out-of-State Lisence

The provisional restrictions also apply to any minor who surrenders an out-of-state driver license for an original California license.

 

Provisional Driver Lisence Sanctions

Currently a 30-day restriction is required if your driver record shows a violation point count of two or more points in 12 months. A six months suspension and a one-year term of probation shall be imposed if your driver record shows a violation point count of three or more points in 12 months. Also, the court is required to impose community service hours or fines for violation of specific provisions.

 

NOTE: Probation means: no tickets, no accidents and any current restriction or suspension will run its full term even if you turn 18 before the restriction or suspension ends.